Four finalists named in search for new SACS Board member

Southwest Allen County Schools
Southwest Allen County Schools(WPTA)
Published: Nov. 22, 2021 at 7:02 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (Fort Wayne’s NBC) - A list of 29 applicants has been narrowed to four finalists who are still being considered to complete an unexpired term on the Southwest Allen County Board of Trustees, the district said on Monday.

The applicants are seeking to succeed Tom Rhoades, who stepped down earlier this month leaving an open seat for Aboite Township.

The finalists are: Emery McClendon, Jeff Maines, Doug Copley, and Vincent Bloomfield. One of those individuals may be chosen at a meeting on Dec.1, if the Board reaches a consensus. If not, a Circuit Court judge will fill the opening, the district said.

The new Board member will be eligible to run for reelection -- for a full term -- in November 2022.

Copyright 2021 WPTA. All rights reserved.